24th Annual Spillway Classic Trail Run

24th Annual Spillway Classic Trail Run Results

Sunday, July 17, 2011, 8:00 AM
Bonnet Carre Spillway Boat Launch Pavilion, Norco, LA
In Memory of Rick Lusky, Past NOTC President
benefiting Operation HomeFront Louisiana
presented by Phidippides Footwear
Race Director: J.J. Waguespack, New Orleans Track Club

Thanks to the timely closing of the Spillway gates, more than 1,000 runners were treated to one of the best Spillway courses in years. The rating of 8.5 was given to the course which had been rated a 9.5 a few weeks earlier and was rated a 2 only two weeks before the race. Because of some rain this week the runners were not disappointed.

The NOTC's 24th year of producing this event treated runners to knee-deep water in the gauntlet and slippery, muddy conditions throughout the 3 mile course. The course was marked and cleared by the race crew and thanks to the volume of water previously contained in the Spillway, the course was very runnable but muddy.

Overall winners Sean Allerton and Emmi Aguillard enjoyed the much-coveted and handmade awards from Mike Minturn. Towels were given to all finishers which were much needed at the wet and muddy finish. Runners from many states and from all around the greater metro area drove in for this unique run.

Thanks to Phidippides Footwear who was the presenting sponsor. Also, thank you to all our old and new volunteers. It takes dozens of NOTC volunteers to produce an event this large. Without your assistance we would not be successful.

Please view the course photos and finish line and award presentation photos on our Facebook page as only they can speak to the fun that is had at this event. Hope to see you all next year.

Questions or comments about these results? Contact results@runNOTC.org.

3 Mile Award Winners

Place Male Age Time Overall Female Age Time Overall
1 Sean Allerton 27 17:37 1 Emmi Aguillard 19 22:27 1
2 Sean Fitzwilliam 32 17:54 2 Katie Hamel 23 23:25 2
3 Brendan Minihan, Jr 35 18:30 3 Lanier Flanders 18 23:32 3
4 Nick Accardo 28 18:32 4 Jennifer Gioia 38 23:35 4
5 Papa Bouckaert 26 18:36 5 Raquel Gros 31 23:36 5
Overall Youth
1 Joseph Hart 15 22:48 31 Skyler Verdin 12 29:58 40
Overall Masters
1 Kenny Girot 52 22:18 28 Donna Harris 42 28:09 15
Overall Grandmasters
1 Juan Perez 67 24:21 49 Kathy Kliebert 55 30:36 39
Overall Seniors
1 Roy Spear 61 37:17 480 Pat Nola 68 1:10:05 341
Muddiest Finishers
1 Emmett Johnson, Dalton Candies Caitlin Dyer