Spillway Classic Trail Run Phidippides

Spillway Classic Trail Run Results

Sunday, July 18, 2010, 8:00 AM
Bonnet Carre Spillway, Norco, LA
Presented by Phidippides Sports
Race Director: Chuck George, New Orleans Track Club

Another record turnout of 1900 entrants for the Spillway Classic Trail Run. Course conditions were better than last year with a 3.5 rating. The ratings of 9.0 two weeks out and 7.0 just one week out disappeared with no rain for about 8 to 10 days prior to race day...bummer!

Runners managed to take advantage as can be seen in the photos of what water and mud was in the gauntlet section of the course. The present course had enforced course cutting rules through the switch back sections, thus new course records will be posted for both overall male and female finishers. We now have original (pre-bike trail) records by Shawn Nixon and Santilla Victorian with Brendan Minihan and Malia Cali holding the course records when the switchbacks were not utilized on route. In the next few weeks I plan to measure the @ 3 mile course to see just how much over 3 miles it really is. Note that each year the actual trail distance is subject to conditions on the trail like a downed tree, erosion, etc.

Overall winners David Rooney and Amy Guinn are cross country and track athletes at McNeese State University in Lake Charles. David is an Irishman from Dublin. He placed 52nd overall last year in the NCAA Cross Country 10K with a time of 30:32 and placed 56th in the European Cross Country Championship while running a 27:03 for an 8K. Amy is also an accomplished cross country and track runner at McNeese, she was All State in CC and Track while at Barbe High School.

Thanks to Phidippides Sports our presenting sponsor and to the Mississippi River Equipment Company for sponsoring the custom medallions given to the top 500 finishers. Many volunteer hours go into producing this race. Thanks to the dozens of NOTC volunteers!

The photos posted and linked from the NOTC website speak volumes about this unique race, much better than I can write. So I'll end here. Hope to see you all next year, let's top 2000!

Chuck George, Race Director

3 Mile Award Winners

Place MaleAgeTime FemaleAgeTime
Overall Open
1 David Rooney2217:27 Amy Guinn2121:26
2 Andy Florek2217:33 Ana De Vries2421:31
3 Neil McDonagh2817:42 Michelle Hymel2621:42
4 Johnathan Koenck2118:06 Sophie Capmartin3122:35
5 Brendan Minihan3418:22 Kathleen Coverick2423:01
Overall Masters
1 Dave Ray4320:43 Suzy Shafor4326:37
Overall Grandmasters
1 JJ Waguespack5123:35 Mary Lambert5031:04
Overall Seniors
1 Ken Mire6123:59 Yvonne Thomas6634:41