103rd Anniversary Jackson Day Race

103rd Anniversary Jackson Day Race Results

Sunday, January 10, 2010, 8:30 AM
Old Spanish Fort to Jackson Square, New Orleans, LA
Presenting Sponsor: The Former Owners and Employees of Radiofone
Race Director: Chuck George, New Orleans Track Club

A field of over 700 hearty runners braved 25 degree weather to participate in the 103rd Annual Jackson Day Race, New Orleans's oldest roadrace. The icy conditions warranted the use of a screwdriver and hammer to open the lids of the water coolers to refill the Kentwood Springs Water containers at the start and finish water stations. Extra care was needed to warn runners enroute to watch footing on course near the water stations as dripping fluids quickly froze on the pavement and in the French Quarter especially at the finish line at Jackson Square.

The Coors Light beer truck had to make a run for replacements as the initial order of kegs for the post race party froze overnight. One of the most used features race morning was the Baggage Claim truck that transported additional clothing to the post race area for the race finishers. Volunteers in all areas (registration, pre-registration, course, water stations, finish line, scoring) deserve praise for their efforts to coordinate race activities under adverse (freezing) conditions.

Sean Allerton won the overall mens title for the 2nd year in a row at 29:38 and Sarah Skotty captured the womens divison at 33:18. Thank you to the Former Owners and Employees of Radiofone for their continued sponsorship support.

Jackson Day Race results may be used as a qualifying times for seeded entry to the Crescent City Classic. Qualifying times are 32:35 for the A group, 36:07 for the B group, and 40:30 for the C group.

Chuck George, Race Director

Race Photos

Sean Allerton, first male overall. Paul Bodet, first male master. Sarah Skotty (374), first female overall. Trey Stoltz on Moss Street. J. Roger Brown (529), first male senior. Kelly Nicholas (474), second female overall. Future Jackson Day Race winner? Liz Stoltz, first female master. 103rd Anniversary Jackson Day Race 103rd Anniversary Jackson Day Race 103rd Anniversary Jackson Day Race The finish line at Jackson Square. Sean Allerton, first overall male finisher. Sarah Skotty, first overall female finisher. Ken Mire leads a group to the finish line. 103rd Anniversary Jackson Day Race Terrey Perrault and Lilli Brown turn to the home stretch. 103rd Anniversary Jackson Day Race Martha George and Coleen Duplass compiling results. Joy Cohen and Mike Duplass compiling results. Mary Erin Imwalle and Ryan Gallagher, third overall finishers. Pam Congemi, second 40-44 female finisher. Matthew Vargus, first 14-under male finisher. Kelly Nicholas, second overall female finisher. Del Donner, first (and only!) 80-over male finisher.

Photos by Billie Sloss. Click on any photo for a larger image.

9K Award Winners

Place MaleAgeTime FemaleAgeTime
Overall Open
1 Sean Allerton2529:38 Sarah Skotty2633:18
2 Nick Accardo2730:26 Kelly Nicholas4236:28
3 Ryan Gallagher2830:52 Mary Erin Imwalle2336:45
Overall Masters
1 Paul Bodet4133:27 Liz Stoltz4238:35
Overall Grandmasters
1 Van Edwards5035:34 Kathleen Welch5339:45
Overall Seniors
1 J. Roger Brown6137:10 Susan Norwood6354:26
Overall Racewalkers
Louis deLassus Award
1 Sean Allerton2529:38 Sarah Skotty2633:18
Dr. Pat Award
1 Paul Bodet4133:27
Age Group 14-Under
1 Matthews Vargus1337:38 Rachel Scurria1148:59
2 Carlos Zervigon1237:45 Olivia Bernstein1055:21
Age Group 15-19
1 Robert Willie1833:25 Rachel Eskine1743:17
2 Brent Kitto1634:58 Kaitlin Saacks1745:00
Age Group 20-24
1 Richard Volkommer2432:24 Amy Dubetz2337:25
2 Alex Coniglio2139:00 Nicole Murphy2440:14
Age Group 25-29
1 Mike Landis2531:06 Eva Lustigova38:03
2 Stacey Paul LaBorde2835:46 Shannon Goans2540:43
Age Group 30-34
1 Cory Bourg3033:28 Allison Musgrove3242:45
2 Mario Krenn3033:29 Laura Meaux3344:54
Age Group 35-39
1 Chris Kehoe3731:29 Brenda Yawn3845:00
2 Billy Borrouso3733:52 Page Zeringue3646:40
Age Group 40-44
1 Russ Bourgeios4033:55 Annette McDougal4343:27
2 Robert Laird4034:19 Pam Congemi4143:31
Age Group 45-49
1 Bill Plunkett4633:29 Rhonda Roman4644:29
2 Jeff Van Horne4535:53 Jinx Campbell4644:58
Age Group 50-54
1 Kenny Schexneyder5136:51 Mary Ann Truit5345:14
2 Dale Woolridge5037:00 Susan Opelka5446:58
Age Group 55-59
1 Emmitt Lockard5541:23 Robin Daning5746:02
2 Jeff Gohd5642:02 Lisa Dugger5548:50
Age Group 60-64
1 Mike Chovonec6042:14 Gail Sheridan6256:14
2 Ken Mire6043:23 Tillie Clark6256:31
Age Group 65-69
1 Tad Jurgens6844:30 Janet Freeland651:14:45
2 William Knox6546:28 Carol Barrios651:28:30
Age Group 70-74
1 Craig Sherman7051:36 Martha Wright721:00:08
2 Bill Jennings7056:54
Age Group 75-79
1 Bill Cohen781:34:10
Age Group 80-Over
1 Del Donner811:22:05