Middendorf's 75th Anniversary 1934-2009 RRCA Championship Race

Middendorf's Manchac Race Results

Saturday, October 11, 2009, 8:00 AM
Middendorf's Restaurant, Manchac, LA
Race Director: Chuck George, New Orleans Track Club

Despite the forecast calling for bad conditions the race day weather was very good with overcast skies, a brief light rain, and mild temperatures. The near 100 pre-registered no-shows really missed out on a good time.

In the feature 10 Mile race Matt Manning led throughout and took overall honors at 56:24 with Sean Fitzwilliam and Walker Saik coming in next at 57:50 and 1:00:40. Megan Broussard had an equally lengthly overall lead in the women's 10 Mile division winning at 1:07:32. She was followed by Shima Ito at 1:10:02 and May King at 1:10:39. Manning and Broussard also claimed the Louisiana RRCA 10 Mile State Championship titles. The 5K had Kevin Kirscher and Kathleen Welch first overall at 18:44 and 22:20.

Even with an area power outage that was not fixed until 9:30 AM Middendorf's Restaurant managed to quickly cook and serve their signature fried thin catfish with cole slaw and pototo salad to all in attendance in a matter of a few minutes. Thanks to the sponsorship support of Hancock Bank, Acadian Ambulance, Michelob Ultra, Kentwood Springs Water, and Coca-Cola.

Questions or comments about these results? Contact results@runNOTC.org.

Race Photos

Horst Pfiefer of Middendorf's and one of the Manchac Fire Department staff coordinate pre-race duties. Starting line. Larry Price followed by Pat Clancy, Jr. in the 10 miler. Middendorf's Manchac Race. Middendorf's Manchac Race. Sean Fitzwilliam, Matt Manning and Walker Saik speed across Pass Manchac bridge after the start. Middendorf's Manchac Race. Middendorf's Manchac Race. Enthusiastic 5K finishers. Karen Pfiefer of Middendorf's applauds overall 10 Mile State Champion Matt Manning as he crosses the finish line. Megan Broussard wins the 10 Mile womens division and claims the State Championship. Carlos Zervigon age 11 runs a speedy 10  miler. Overall 10 Mile division winners pose with Karen Pfiefer of Middendorf's and representatives of sponsor Hancock Bank. Middendorf's Manchac Race. Middendorf's Manchac Race.

Photos by George Waguespack and Ken Killian. Click on any photo for a slideshow.

10 Mile Award Winners

Place MaleAgeTime FemaleAgeTime
Overall Open
1 Matt Manning2956:24 Megan Broussard231:07:32
Overall Masters
1 Tom Luongo451:01:49 Tamara Fryer401:22:40
Overall Grandmasters
1 Graham Boyce501:03:04 Lisa Rusteyer521:24:30
Overall Seniors
1 Pat Clancy, Jr.611:18:33 Yvonne Thomas651:41:48
Age Group 11-14
1 Carlos Zervigon111:13:25
Age Group 15-19
1 Paul Dauterive161:07:39
2 Brandon Barbin171:20:40
Age Group 20-24
1 Matthew Cutrer241:10:20 Cigi Dufrene231:39:30
2 Brandon Ferrari201:17:53 Rebecca Pevey241:41:18
Age Group 25-29
1 Walker Saik251:00:40 Shima Ito271:10:02
2 Jacob Schrieffer261:04:16 May King251:10:39
Age Group 30-34
1 Sean Fitzwilliam3057:50 Mary Smith341:15:11
2 Drew Baldwin341:02:33 Vilma Cervantes301:16:17
Age Group 35-39
1 Bill Borrouso371:04:25 Lisa Stewart391:28:20
2 Matt Leffert381:04:30 Monica Embers361:28:54
Age Group 40-44
1 Doug Holmes421:03:50 Terrey Perrault441:24:27
2 Keith Balza411:05:13 Pam Congemi401:24:30
Age Group 45-49
1 James Miller461:02:58 Marianne Garvey471:23:50
2 Andrew Olivier471:03:40 Robin Pringle451:23:57
Age Group 50-54
1 Dave Dessauer531:09:33 Sue Rice501:32:30
2 J. J. Waguespack501:10:29 Lilli Brown501:35:02
Age Group 55-59
1 Larry Price591:17:39 Wanda Whitney551:42:21
2 Mike Risey581:23:40 Linda Fussell571:51:00
Age Group 60-64
1 Donnie Breland631:26:12 Jamie Manders641:51:40
2 Francis Braud621:32:11 Hally McCrea611:32:40
Age Group 65-69
1 Tad Jurgens671:20:00 Sandy Giannoble651:54:21
2 Doug Alexander691:32:40
Age Group 70-74
1 John Rincon701:43:48
2 Charles Lataxes701:44:28
Age Group 75-Over
Overall Racewalkers
1 Aaron Boudreaux521:57:51 Pat Driscoll562:05:24
2 Duke Wolverton622:02:02 Jane Phelps632:14:00
3 Bill Elrod732:15:23 Lisa Pitre492:29:54

5K Award Winners

Place MaleAgeTime FemaleAgeTime
Overall Open
1 Kevin Kirchner1518:44 Kathleen Welch5322:20
Overall Masters
1 J. Roger Brown6121:02 Shawn Holliday4424:00
Overall Grandmasters
1 Jonathan Bracey5221:42 Anne Meyer5328:28
Overall Seniors
1 Lee Rhodes6825:29 Helene Price6429:59
Age Group 10-Under
1 Parker McBride1023:20 Hannah Eyster955:04
2 Dawson Gilding923:37
1 Carlos Andino1421:25 Jelemo Andino1235:51
2 Miles Zervigon1324:17 Emily Stevens1141:30
Age Group 15-19
1 Norman Borne1722:44 Elizabeth McConnell1825:45
2 Jonathan Downing1627:19 Annie Foster1631:07
Age Group 20-24
1 Josh Chauvin2419:44 Alyssa Sirosiphon2032:31
2 Reginald Darby2025:35 Molly Bel2434:23
Age Group 25-29
1 Nick Judice2720:49 Jennifer Browman-Fulks2725:32
2 Shane Meyer2622:18 Darci Reggio2827:45
Age Group 30-34
1 Emanuel Cabria3123:50 Lisa Angello3329:29
2 Paul Dey3424:14 Sarah Wiseman3030:01
Age Group 35-39
1 Phil McMichael3725:20 Estelle Bauer3826:50
2 Wade Bendit3926:32 Jeanifer Rouss3530:08
Age Group 40-44
1 Howard Hilton4022:32 Diedra Petty4026:01
2 James Street4222:42 Stephanie Veron4427:05
Age Group 45-49
1 Jay Taylor4526:35 Jeannie Foste4531:07
2 Nick Friedman4726:55 Pamela Finley4531:24
Age Group 50-54
1 A. J. Sommers5423:59 Marcia Finkelstein5232:09
2 Jerry D'Aquin5025:31 Leone Ferrari5336:15
Age Group 55-59
1 Tom Anderson5825:50 Kathlyn McMichael5933:10
2 Kent Laplace5734:17 Philomena Rube5741:15
Age Group 60-64
1 Frank Payne6426:28 Jackie Wolverton6232:44
2 Ron Durkes6327:18 Cheryl Durkes6344:25
3 Merrie Bennett6452:04
Age Group 65-69
1 Roy Johnson6526:10 Carol Barrios6545:14
2 Wayne Bourgeois6632:44
Age Group 70-74
1 Betty Waguespack7449:25
2 Elizabeth Tosterud7057:45
Age Group 75-79
1 Ed Wilson7545:25
Age Group 80-Over
1 Bill Cox8134:40
Overall Racewalkers
1 Steve Attaya6136:10
2 Reginald Harley5341:12
3 Oliver Dailey6249:27