Metairie Cemetery's 2009 A Run Through History Lakelawn Metairie Funeral Home and Cemeteries

A Run Through History Results

Sunday, November 15, 2009, 8:30 AM
Metairie Cemetery, New Orleans, LA
Benefiting Save Our Cemeteries, Inc.
Sponsored by Lakelawn Metairie Funeral Home and Cemeteries
Race Director: Chuck George, New Orleans Track Club

Save Our Cemeteries

The 8th Annual "A Run Through History" featured excellent weather and a large field of over 1000 participants at historic Metairie Cemetery. Brendan Minihan, Jr. must like running in cemeteries as he claimed the overall 5K title for the 7th time in 15:50. Megan Gubbins led a fast ladies' field to claim the women's 5K title in 19:42. The post-race festivites included food from several area restaurants, beer, wine, soft drinks, and entertainment by the Benny Maygarden Band. Race proceeds benefit the Save our Cemeteries organization. The race was hosted by Lakelawn Metairie Cemetery and Funeral Home and emcee'd by Rachel Wulff of WDSU TV6.

Race Photos

Jackie Wolverton prepares race results materials. Louis Schultz, Lou Moyer, and Mel Werner confer on the race course logistics. Hello...NOTC registration volunteers. Emcee Rachel Wulff of WDSU TV6. Maddie McClain, Lusher Charter School student, sings the national anthem. Start of 1 mile race. Race Director leads 1 mile runners through Metairie Cemetery. 1 mile finishers. 1 mile finishers. 1 mile finishers. 1 mile finishers. 5K Run starts.  Check out the new inflatable arch. 5K walkers start. Brandon Wingate, 2nd overall. Megan Gubbins wins the 5K. 5K finishers. 5K finishers. 5K finishers. Gerry Bodet, you da man! 1 mile race division winners. 1 mile race division winners. 1 mile race division winners.

Photos by George Waguespack and Ken Killian. Click on any photo for a slideshow.

5K Award Winners

Place MaleAgeTime FemaleAgeTime
Overall Open
1 Brendan Minihan, Jr3415:50 Megan Gubbins2719:42
2 Brandon Wingate3515:56 Mia Scoggin2219:54
3 Josh Parks17:25 Mary Chadwick2520:22
Overall Masters
1 Sam Mapes4818:06 Lauren Clark4221:56
Overall Grandmasters
1 J.J. Waguespack5119:35 Lola Ackerman6524:20
Overall Seniors
1 J. Roger Brown6120:06 Carol Shirley6424:48
Age Group 10-Under
1 Brady Butler927:40 Marin Ruckman1030:54
2 Michael Barkemeyer927:42 Hannah Knowles1043:15
Age Group 11-14
1 Miles Zervigon1321:49 Delaney Burst1322:36
2 Jack Noelis1231:56 Carter Carey1136:27
Age Group 15-19
1 Anthony Pigford1622:35 Jessica Dallager1921:28
2 Nathan Glasser1523:51 Ashley Fitzhenry1621:32
Age Group 20-24
1 Corey Squire2217:24 Lauren Jewett2222:12
2 Chaz Caiado2417:44 Sara Vandenbroek2424:32
Age Group 25-29
1 Matt Greco2619:42 Priscilla Hebert2622:00
2 Matthew Waldrep2921:11 Jana Schwartz2824:00
Age Group 30-34
1 Justin Faith3320:15 Jennie Holstein3122:25
2 Tim Riley3320:46 Jennifer Brizzolara3024:50
Age Group 35-39
1 Trey Stolz3519:50 Alison Nations3822:34
2 Alberto Hernandez3519:56 Lisa Katz3923:15
Age Group 40-44
1 Joe Deutsch4419:35 Shawn Holliday4423:30
2 Henry P Calamano4220:49 Tanya Virgadamo4124:00
Age Group 45-49
1 James Miller4618:26 Robin Pringle4523:51
2 Byron Adams4619:09 Laura Doty4823:56
Age Group 50-54
1 Mike Dugger5419:54 Sue Rice5024:29
2 Jonathan Bracy5221:15 Mary Lambert5025:05
Age Group 55-59
1 Larry Price5920:35 Wanda Whitney5626:05
2 Robert Browfield5522:01 Bonnie McAskill5528:24
Age Group 60-64
1 Pat Clancy6120:33 Helen Price6426:21
2 Ken Mire6021:40 Jamie Manders6430:31
Age Group 65-69
1 Lee Rhodes6824:17 Yvonne Thomas6626:33
2 Hans Devries6527:04 Gail Byrd6536:45
Age Group 70-74
1 John Rincon7026:44 Marlene Perry7242:31
2 Bill Jennings7027:52
Age Group 75-Over
1 Bill Cox8133:47 Amelia Gassen8251:07
2 Raymond Nosari7844:05 Lucy Troxler7856:47
3 Del Donner8051:08
Racewalkers Overall
1 Aaron Boudreaux5234:04 Pat Driscoll5635:36
Racewalkers 49-Under
1 Anne Marie St. Clair4936:01
2 Roxie Martinez4236:12
Racewalkers 50-59
1 Gary Sells5838:32 Claudia Frost5342:49
2 Reginald Harley5339:09
Racewalkers 60-69
1 Duke Wolverton6334:30 Marie Merrick6844:46
2 Doug Pool6938:20
Racewalkers 70-Over
1 Bill Elrod7337:12
2 Gerry Bodet7447:00

1 Mile Award Winners

Place MaleAgeTime FemaleAgeTime
Overall Open
1 Alex Ourso146:08 Sadie Hebert117:08
Age Group 8-Under
1 Corbin Brescher77:30 Charley Chehardy77:36
2 Jacob Reeder87:54 Jessica Reed810:52
Age Group 9-10
1 William Reed107:16 Lindsey Gilbert107:52
2 Christopher Matise97:17 Colette Carriere99:25
Age Group 11-12
1 Blair Harges117:52 Zoe Burst117:25
2 Henry Calamari118:01 Meredith Fisse118:08
Age Group 13-15
1 Mark Golay136:52 Chelsea James137:20
2 Brad Bartee137:05 Ana Juarez157:44