Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

Susan G. Komen New Orleans "Race for the Cure" Results

Sunday, October 25, 2009, 9:00 AM
City Park, New Orleans, LA
Race Director: Chuck George, New Orleans Track Club

Nearly 10,000 runners and walkers took part in the 13th Annual Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation's "New Orleans Race for the Cure." Perfect weather greeted the tremendous crowd of participants that included several hundred teams and thousands of individual runners and walkers. Overall 5K winners were Sean Allerton at 15:50 (winning for the third consecutive time) and Michelle Hymel repeating in the women's division with a fast 18:28. Bev Veals participated in her 118th Race for the Cure 5K and was the 1st Survivor finisher at a time of 22:07. Thank you for your support!

Questions or comments about these results? Contact

Race Photos

Packet pickup volunteers pose for group photo. Thanks volunteers! Meet me at the Brown's Dairy cow! The Bayou St. John 'old steel bridge' is decorated and waiting for the runners and walkers. Race for the Cure The Saintsations... Thanks for your support! Councilwoman Jackie Clarkson finishes the 1 Mile. Thanks for your support! Nearly 10,000 runners and walkers take off in the 5K. Robert Scott leads Philip Glotser and Phil Jones thru the first mile of the 5K. Race for the Cure Thanks... TEAM TAIWAN. Thanks... Team Wildcats for the Cure. Race for the Cure I Am the Cure Cheer teams line course in front of the Museum of Art. Sean Allerton wins the 5K for the third consecutive year. Michelle Hymel repeats her 2008 win in the 5K. Allison Moll, 2nd overall in the 5K. Allene Thaller (race co-chair) presents plaque to race sponsor representatitve from Chevron. Marbury Little (Honorary Breast Cancer Survivor Chair) with 1st Overall Breast Cancer Survivor 5K division winner Bev Veals. This was Bev's 118th time to participate in a Komen Race for the Cure 5K....congratulations Bev! Marbury Little (Honorary Breast Cancer Survivor Chair) presents award to Maureen Koch the 2nd overall Breast Cancer Survivor 5K division finsher. Gale Sheridan receives the Seniors 5K award in Breast Cancer Survivors Division from Marbury Little (Honorary Survivor Chair). Michelle Hymel and Sean Allerton, 1st overall male and female finisher in the 5K receive their awards from Komen New Orleans Board of Directors members Regan Forrester and Pat Denechaud. Pat Driscoll, 1st racewalker receives divison award from Komen Board Members Regan Forrester and Pat Denechaud.

Photos by George Waguespack and Ken Killian. Click on any photo for a slideshow.

5K Award Winners

Place MaleAgeTime FemaleAgeTime
Overall Open
1 Sean Allerton2515:50 Michelle Hymel2518:28
2 Brandon Wingate3516:05 Allison Moll3218:55
3 Philip Glotser2517:09 Danielle Murphy1719:05
Overall Masters
1 Robert Scott4117:34 Donna Wrobel4423:19
Overall Grandmasters
1 Phil Jones5417:38 Wendy Raso5027:30
Overall Seniors
1 Pat Clancy, Jr.6121:13 Tillie Clark6229:23
Overall Racewalkers
1 Gary Sells5840:24 Pat Driscoll5636:30
Breast Cancer Survivors Overall
1 Bev Veals4522:07
2 Maureen Koch4624:30
3 Margaret Beer5128:00
Breast Cancer Survivors Masters
1 Michelle McCarthy5129:40
Breast Cancer Survivors Seniors
1 Gale Sheridan6130:14

Questions or comments about these results? Contact